View previous topic :: View next topic |
|
Author |
Message |
N1GH7H4WK
Ensign


Age: 22
Zodiac: 
Joined: 27 Feb 2006
Posts: 159
Location: On the bridge, Number One. Where else?

|
|
|

|
|
|
I was just dreaming awake.
If we can force a ship to move from one point to another (starbases and drydocks), can we force a starbase to lose it's orbit and fall to a planet?
I think it's already done in the vesuvi6 facility, but not sure.
Would be a great CRASH in BC. (crash with the planet, and crash of the graphic engine. )
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
N1GH7H4WK
Ensign


Age: 22
Zodiac: 
Joined: 27 Feb 2006
Posts: 159
Location: On the bridge, Number One. Where else?

|
|
|

|
|
|
I found it!!:
Code: | def AsteroidHitStation():
# Get the set and the station object
pSet = App.g_kSetManager.GetSet("Vesuvi6")
pStation = App.ShipClass_GetObject(pSet, "Facility")
if (pStation == None):
return
# If we're playing with the hard difficulty setting, have the
# station fall a little faster.
eDifficulty = App.Game_GetDifficulty()
if (eDifficulty == App.Game.HARD):
fSpeed = 1.7
else:
fSpeed = 1
# Send the station toward the Planet Location placement
pPlacement = App.PlacementObject_GetObject(pSet, "Planet Location")
vVelocity = pPlacement.GetWorldLocation()
vVelocity.Subtract(pStation.GetWorldLocation())
vVelocity.Unitize()
vVelocity.Scale(fSpeed)
pStation.SetVelocity(vVelocity)
# Do the sequence that will let the player know to tractor
# the station
StationHitSequence() |
now, I have to debug and assemble it as a mod
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MLeo
Fleet Admiral

Age: 22
Zodiac: 
Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 11439
Location: Netherlands

|
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
N1GH7H4WK
Ensign


Age: 22
Zodiac: 
Joined: 27 Feb 2006
Posts: 159
Location: On the bridge, Number One. Where else?

|
|
|

|
|
|
yes, i know.
but, isn't that property loaded directly from the hardpoint? I saw it in MPE.
Or do you mean toggling it just to play the falling sequence?
I'm still trying the App.ShipClass_Cast to get if the target is a station. Then I think I'll have to use an ET_ event, right?
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Wowbagger
Lieutenant JG


Age: 20
Zodiac: 
Joined: 03 Apr 2005
Posts: 270
Location: Minne-soh-tah

|
|
|

|
|
|
It is a hardpoint property. I don't remember whether it can be changed in-game. I do remember that space facilities, for some reason unknown to me, aren't stationary, so you can move them. I used to just load them into the game about 20 km away from a planet, then fire few salvos of torpedoes to get them moving at 200 kph. Boom.
And it didn't even crash my system, unlike when I used The Button of Last Resort to ram those bloody torpedo turrets.
|
_________________

|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MLeo
Fleet Admiral

Age: 22
Zodiac: 
Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 11439
Location: Netherlands

|
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
N1GH7H4WK
Ensign


Age: 22
Zodiac: 
Joined: 27 Feb 2006
Posts: 159
Location: On the bridge, Number One. Where else?

|
|
|

|
|
|
Yes, but don't forget that I'm who is trying to make it, so consider the graphic crash...
however, is my theoric script right MLeo? using ShipClass_Cast and ET_OBJECT_EXPLODING to handle the event?
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MLeo
Fleet Admiral

Age: 22
Zodiac: 
Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 11439
Location: Netherlands

|
|
|

|
|
|
N1GH7H4WK wrote: | Yes, but don't forget that I'm who is trying to make it, so consider the graphic crash...
BTW, "stationary" means "no engines", not "freezed". You can move a small station with a torpedo charge or with the tractor beam. In fact, that's the last resource you have if an asteroid hits Vesuvi6's facility |
In BC scripting it means: "Position frozen no matter what".
I shouldn't be to worried about a crash I think. NanoFX, that's what I'm worried about.
|
_________________
How to beat the Black Screen Of Death and Script problems Also handles Console/Screen/Error report/dump.
BC Technical FAQ [Last updated 26/12/2005]
"Trust me, I'm a con artist" - Moist von Lipwig, "Going Postal, Discworld"
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Wowbagger
Lieutenant JG


Age: 20
Zodiac: 
Joined: 03 Apr 2005
Posts: 270
Location: Minne-soh-tah

|
|
|

|
|
|
The game crashed about 30% of the time on my craptop. It crashes on about 5% of ship destructions overall, though. It's not a very good PC. I would definitely be worried about NanoFX, but the only way to find out is to try it.
|
_________________

|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|