BCU main page Bridge Commander Universe
...welcome to the new world.
 
 FAQFAQ  RanksRanks  RulesRules   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups  Staff SiteStaff Site    RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Getting Models Ingame

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Bridge Commander Universe Forum Index -> Technical Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message

Quantus

Cadet 3rd Class
Cadet 3rd Class


Age: 23
Zodiac: Sagittarius
Joined: 27 May 2005
Posts: 42

Offline

 

 



Reply with quote

Post Posted: 09-21-2006 07:58 AM Post subject: Getting Models Ingame

Alright. I did everything I could but I just couldn't figure this out. I've been
trying to get my model ingame after exporting it to .nif, hardpointing it in
MPE, and making the nescessary scripts. I used an existing ships script from
scripts/ships/ and all I did was change the name of the ship to my own. I
even used BCMP for its plugin. I know its not a scripting problem because
I can get all the way up to selecting my ship and starting quickbattle, but it
wont load and it crashes to desktop all the time.

I think I pinpointed the problem all the way to the textures. I seem to
remember that you had to add a _glow to the end of all the filenames and
export them into a .nif somehow. Does anyone have any clue at what my
problem is?

btw, I didn't know where to put this so I put it here lol.


_________________
Aqualus on BCfiles.
Used to be Mesh aka MeshThe2nd.

Why? Cause I suck at remembering passwords. Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger

USS Sovereign

Lieutenant Commander
Lieutenant Commander


Age: 24
Zodiac: Aquarius
Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 541
Location: Croatia
Offline

 

 



Reply with quote

Post Posted: 09-21-2006 03:43 PM Post subject:

Are you sure you pointed the right path to the model, textures aren't the reason why your game is crashing but non existant path most likely.

Example:

Code:
def GetShipStats():
   kShipStats = {
      "FilenameHigh": "data/Models/Bases/Wormhole2/wormhole-outerring.NIF",
      "FilenameMed": "data/Models/Bases/Wormhole2/wormhole-outerring.NIF",
      "FilenameLow": "data/Models/Bases/Wormhole2/wormhole-outerring.NIF",
      "Name": "Wormhole2",
      "HardpointFile": "Wormhole2",
      "Species": Multiplayer.SpeciesToShip.GALAXY
   }
   return kShipStats


Specify the correct path to the model you've made, data/Models/Bases/Wormhole2/wormhole-outerring.NIF


_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger

tiqhud

Pro-Captain
Pro-Captain




Joined: 28 Aug 2004
Posts: 1067
Location: this Desktop
Offline

 

 



Reply with quote

Post Posted: 09-21-2006 06:16 PM Post subject:

t'is a very easy, thing, to over look


_________________
TiqHud - COE

I didn't do it
If we don't learn from our Mistakes, we will surely repeat them.
It is all the little details, that cause headaches.
According to the way society is going, I'll need a college Degree just to change a light bulb

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger

Quantus

Cadet 3rd Class
Cadet 3rd Class


Age: 23
Zodiac: Sagittarius
Joined: 27 May 2005
Posts: 42

Offline

 

 



Reply with quote

Post Posted: 09-22-2006 03:35 AM Post subject:

Code:
def GetShipStats():
   kShipStats = {
      "FilenameHigh": "data/Models/Ships/BulkFreighter/Bulk.NIF",
      "FilenameMed": "data/Models/Ships/BulkFreighter/Bulk.NIF",
      "FilenameLow": "data/Models/Ships/BulkFreighter/Bulk.NIF",
      "Name": "Bulk",
      "HardpointFile": "bulk",
      "Species": Multiplayer.SpeciesToShip.AKIRA


data/Models/Ships/Bulk/Bulk.nif. I kept the file names and folders all the
same as to simplify it.


_________________
Aqualus on BCfiles.
Used to be Mesh aka MeshThe2nd.

Why? Cause I suck at remembering passwords. Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger

tiqhud

Pro-Captain
Pro-Captain




Joined: 28 Aug 2004
Posts: 1067
Location: this Desktop
Offline

 

 



Reply with quote

Post Posted: 09-22-2006 12:33 PM Post subject:

what about these?
Code:
abbrev = 'Firebird'
iconName = 'Firebird'
longName = 'Firebird'
shipFile = 'Firebird'
menuGroup = 'R3 ships Ships'
playerMenuGroup = 'R3 ships Ships'
species = App.SPECIES_SOVEREIGN


# Mod info.  Use this as an opportunity to describe your work in brief.  This may have
# use later on for updates and such.

credits = {
   'modName': 'Firebird',   # The full name of your mod if applicable
   'author': 'DARKDRONE',              # Your name here
   'version': '1.0',                     # No more than one period please!
                                         # I'd like to be able to do a numeric comparison.
   'sources': [ 'http://' ],             # Source for this mod
   'comments': ''                        # General info
}

# Uncomment (remove the # symbol from) the line which has a ShipDef you want.
# A generic ship should use ShipDef.  If you want a Federation Ship, Print a #
# in front of the first line and uncomment the line with FedShipDef.

Foundation.ShipDef.Firebird = Foundation.ShipDef(abbrev, species, { 'name': longName, 'iconName': iconName, 'shipFile': shipFile })

# Uncomment these if you have TGL
# Foundation.ShipDef.Firebird.hasTGLName = 1
# Foundation.ShipDef.Firebird.hasTGLDesc = 1

# Otherwise, uncomment this and type something in:
Foundation.ShipDef.Firebird.desc = 'No Description Available'

########################################################################
# These register the ship with the QuickBattle menus.  Don't touch them.
if menuGroup:           Foundation.ShipDef.Firebird.RegisterQBShipMenu(menuGroup)
if playerMenuGroup:     Foundation.ShipDef.Firebird.RegisterQBPlayerShipMenu(playerMenuGroup)

if Foundation.shipList._keyList.has_key(longName):
     Foundation.ShipDef.__dict__[longName].friendlyDetails[2] = Foundation.shipList[longName].friendlyDetails[2]
     Foundation.ShipDef.__dict__[longName].enemyDetails[2] = Foundation.shipList[longName].enemyDetails[2]


have you made sure on the " Foundation.ShipDef." in your scripts , I messed up doing that once


_________________
TiqHud - COE

I didn't do it
If we don't learn from our Mistakes, we will surely repeat them.
It is all the little details, that cause headaches.
According to the way society is going, I'll need a college Degree just to change a light bulb

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger

Quantus

Cadet 3rd Class
Cadet 3rd Class


Age: 23
Zodiac: Sagittarius
Joined: 27 May 2005
Posts: 42

Offline

 

 



Reply with quote

Post Posted: 09-22-2006 02:28 PM Post subject:

Code:
abbrev = 'Bulk'
iconName = 'Bulk'
longName = 'Bulk'
shipFile = 'Bulk'
menuGroup = 'Fed Ships'
playerMenuGroup = 'Fed Ships'
species = App.SPECIES_GALAXY
#                                                                                     #
#######################################################################################
#                                                                                     #
# Mod Info.  Use this as an opportunity to describe your work in brief.  This may     #
# have use later on for updates and such.                                             #
#                                                                                     #
credits = {
   'modName': 'Bulk',
   'author': '',
   'version': '1.0',
   'sources': [ 'http://' ],
   'comments': ''
}
#                                                                                     #
#######################################################################################
#                                                                                     #
# This is the ShipDef that adds the Ship to the game... BC-Mod Packager has           #
# automatically generated the proper ShipDef Line for you.                            #
#                                                                                     #
Foundation.ShipDef.Bulk = Foundation.FedShipDef(abbrev, species, { 'name': longName, 'iconName': iconName, 'shipFile': shipFile })
#                                                                                     #
#######################################################################################
#                                                                                     #
# Uncomment these if you have TGL                                                     #
#                                                                                     #
# Foundation.ShipDef.Bulk.hasTGLName = 1
# Foundation.ShipDef.Bulk.hasTGLDesc = 1
#                                                                                     #
# Otherwise, uncomment this and type something in:                                    #
#                                                                                     #
Foundation.ShipDef.Bulk.desc = 'No Description Available'
#                                                                                     #
#######################################################################################
#                                                                                     #
# These register the ship with the QuickBattle menus.  Don't touch them!!!            #
#                                                                                     #
if menuGroup:           Foundation.ShipDef.Bulk.RegisterQBShipMenu(menuGroup)
if playerMenuGroup:     Foundation.ShipDef.Bulk.RegisterQBPlayerShipMenu(playerMenuGroup)

if Foundation.shipList._keyList.has_key(longName):
     Foundation.ShipDef.__dict__[longName].friendlyDetails[2] = Foundation.shipList[longName].friendlyDetails[2]
     Foundation.ShipDef.__dict__[longName].enemyDetails[2] = Foundation.shipList[longName].enemyDetails[2]


This was generated by BCMP.


_________________
Aqualus on BCfiles.
Used to be Mesh aka MeshThe2nd.

Why? Cause I suck at remembering passwords. Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger

Quantus

Cadet 3rd Class
Cadet 3rd Class


Age: 23
Zodiac: Sagittarius
Joined: 27 May 2005
Posts: 42

Offline

 

 



Reply with quote

Post Posted: 09-22-2006 02:39 PM Post subject:

I'd hate to ask for a handout. But I've tried everything I know. And you
guys said textures aren't the problem. So, if anyone can look at these files
and tell me what I did wrong, I'd really really really appreciate it.

BTW, about the hardpoint file. I used MPE to do all the hardpoints. For some
systems, I copied off an already working version of the Bulk Frieghter that
was in the SWvsSTtaster. I also noticed some icons are bigger then they
really should be in MPE. Could it be a scale problem thats causing this?


_________________
Aqualus on BCfiles.
Used to be Mesh aka MeshThe2nd.

Why? Cause I suck at remembering passwords. Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger

tiqhud

Pro-Captain
Pro-Captain




Joined: 28 Aug 2004
Posts: 1067
Location: this Desktop
Offline

 

 



Reply with quote

Post Posted: 09-22-2006 03:03 PM Post subject:

OK , I just downloaded them, I will report my findings


_________________
TiqHud - COE

I didn't do it
If we don't learn from our Mistakes, we will surely repeat them.
It is all the little details, that cause headaches.
According to the way society is going, I'll need a college Degree just to change a light bulb

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger

tiqhud

Pro-Captain
Pro-Captain




Joined: 28 Aug 2004
Posts: 1067
Location: this Desktop
Offline

 

 



Reply with quote

Post Posted: 09-22-2006 03:38 PM Post subject:

here is my report.
Nice work (BIG) cargo hauler

also you need a tactical icon at Bulk\data\Icons\Ships and it needs to be a 128x128 alpha channel
picture of the ship in tga

BULK\data\Models\Ships\Bulk
Needs to be BulkFreighter (your scripts\ships\Bulk.py is searching for data\Models\Ships\BulkFreighter)



As far as I can see that should do it


_________________
TiqHud - COE

I didn't do it
If we don't learn from our Mistakes, we will surely repeat them.
It is all the little details, that cause headaches.
According to the way society is going, I'll need a college Degree just to change a light bulb

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger

Quantus

Cadet 3rd Class
Cadet 3rd Class


Age: 23
Zodiac: Sagittarius
Joined: 27 May 2005
Posts: 42

Offline

 

 



Reply with quote

Post Posted: 09-22-2006 11:11 PM Post subject:

The Ship isn't mine. Its a stock opt converted from Xwing Alliance.

Ugh. Still doesn't work. I simply changed everything to Bulk. The folders, the
filenames, the icon (which btw i'm a noob with alpha channel). I closely
exaimend my scripts this time as to not miss anything obvious like I did
with the data/scripts/ships/ script. Still nothing. nadda, zip. Still sits on the
loading screen.

I've included my ship again after tiqhud's suggestions incase anyone wants
to look at it and see what thay can figure out a way of this mess.


_________________
Aqualus on BCfiles.
Used to be Mesh aka MeshThe2nd.

Why? Cause I suck at remembering passwords. Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger

tiqhud

Pro-Captain
Pro-Captain




Joined: 28 Aug 2004
Posts: 1067
Location: this Desktop
Offline

 

 



Reply with quote

Post Posted: 09-23-2006 02:46 PM Post subject:

Good effort for just starting

What program did you use to create the py files, Custom\ships , scripts\ships?
I created a new plug-in , and it still does not load, so only conclusion I can come up
with is there is a hidden "control"character somewhere in the scripts\ships or ships\hardpoints



for future references
After rechecking your HP (which is good)
Why do you have two power plants? (1. power plant, 2. engine core)
(removed one)

you have No hyperdrive engines (you got the system, but No engines, that is if you wish it to be able
to move between systems) [added 2]

I did load it into my game (after deleting Bulk.pyc files) , something is amiss with your
tactical icon (tga) , the game loaded the defiant icon not the one you included , check-out the
way to make a proper tactical Icon

(( change the placement of the tactical icon it goes in data\icons\ships)

the Repair system needed some maxium repair points
the Hull needed to be marked as Critical
your SubLight Engines have No Engine Sound Name

Inside "Bulk" (ship name) there was no model file name

Make sure you delete ALL Bulk.pyc files


_________________
TiqHud - COE

I didn't do it
If we don't learn from our Mistakes, we will surely repeat them.
It is all the little details, that cause headaches.
According to the way society is going, I'll need a college Degree just to change a light bulb

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger

tiqhud

Pro-Captain
Pro-Captain




Joined: 28 Aug 2004
Posts: 1067
Location: this Desktop
Offline

 

 



Reply with quote

Post Posted: 09-23-2006 04:03 PM Post subject:

there was defintly something amiss in the HP file (not sure what)

defintly need to reoriante the model

had to make a new HP using the DryDock and deleteing all the tractors , docking stuff, So it is a bare bones HP, it has no engines , Not much of anything but it works


_________________
TiqHud - COE

I didn't do it
If we don't learn from our Mistakes, we will surely repeat them.
It is all the little details, that cause headaches.
According to the way society is going, I'll need a college Degree just to change a light bulb

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger

Quantus

Cadet 3rd Class
Cadet 3rd Class


Age: 23
Zodiac: Sagittarius
Joined: 27 May 2005
Posts: 42

Offline

 

 



Reply with quote

Post Posted: 09-23-2006 04:11 PM Post subject:

Okay. Thank you so much for your efforts tiqhud. Do you mind giving me the
files that worked for you? I can do the rest myself.

btw I edited this post seeing as how you got it to work. Cool


_________________
Aqualus on BCfiles.
Used to be Mesh aka MeshThe2nd.

Why? Cause I suck at remembering passwords. Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger

tiqhud

Pro-Captain
Pro-Captain




Joined: 28 Aug 2004
Posts: 1067
Location: this Desktop
Offline

 

 



Reply with quote

Post Posted: 09-23-2006 08:45 PM Post subject:

see if it will allow me to attache, and I pray that is everything in the file


_________________
TiqHud - COE

I didn't do it
If we don't learn from our Mistakes, we will surely repeat them.
It is all the little details, that cause headaches.
According to the way society is going, I'll need a college Degree just to change a light bulb

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger

Quantus

Cadet 3rd Class
Cadet 3rd Class


Age: 23
Zodiac: Sagittarius
Joined: 27 May 2005
Posts: 42

Offline

 

 



Reply with quote

Post Posted: 09-24-2006 10:22 PM Post subject:

Thank you so much USS Soveriegn for making me see that obvious mistake.
Thank you a million times over tiqhud for getting this ingame for me. You
guys rock!! Now my project is one more step closer to being complete.

By the way, I was able to re-oriantate the model and add a sublight (impulse)
engine system so it can move now. Still having trouble with Warp engines
with MPE, but I'll figure that one out myself.

While I'm thinking of it, does anyone have a working link for making proper
tactacle icons and a tutorial for engine glows? I checked the forums for the
engine glow but it was a broken link. Or if possible, someone can provide
their own instructions here which would be more useful.

Anyways, thanks. You don't know how much you've helped. Smile


_________________
Aqualus on BCfiles.
Used to be Mesh aka MeshThe2nd.

Why? Cause I suck at remembering passwords. Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger

Sandtrooper

totlh
totlh


Age: 17
Zodiac: Capricorn
Joined: 06 Aug 2005
Posts: 1290
Location: Vancouver Island
Offline

 

 



Reply with quote

Post Posted: 09-25-2006 09:53 PM Post subject:

Go Here for the engine glow tutorial...(Mods! STICKY IT!)

Tactical Icons are 128x128 32 bit TGAs. Most recommended views are an angle at the aft of the ship or just a top view.


_________________


Believe it or Not
George is Not
HOME!!!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger

tiqhud

Pro-Captain
Pro-Captain




Joined: 28 Aug 2004
Posts: 1067
Location: this Desktop
Offline

 

 



Reply with quote

Post Posted: 09-26-2006 12:13 PM Post subject:

don't forget alpha


_________________
TiqHud - COE

I didn't do it
If we don't learn from our Mistakes, we will surely repeat them.
It is all the little details, that cause headaches.
According to the way society is going, I'll need a college Degree just to change a light bulb

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic

All times are GMT

Page 1 of 1
   Bridge Commander Universe Forum Index -> Technical Support
 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Bridge Commander Universe is a Nightsoft company. All rights reserved.